Why ‘Good enough’ is rather important than ‘Purrfect’

I mean, first of all, what is- Perfect?

I read this FAQ page on Kris Gage’s process of writing.

Any aspiring writers looking for inspiration must check it out (Only if you want to. It is a free country, after all)

Also, before I carry on- if you’re wondering on how to increase the number of your blog followers, I’d like to give you a very insightful piece of information –you’re breathing through the wrong end of the straw!

Which brings me back to the question of the hour.

You may have already ready a gazillion articles on why “perfectionism maybe the doom of you”. But more importantly, what’s perfect according to you, may not seem perfect to someone else.

Can someone else take your perfect and make it better?

(And in my defense, I don’t mean to give you an existential crisis with that question)

I have painted a giant Buddha on a wall in my living room. It was the offspring of insomnia and frustration. Its spectacular, and a work of art. I couldn’t make it any better. But then, there are times when I wonder. Couldn’t I? If someone else had done it, could they make it better? (Uh, I don’t know Dianne. Michelangelo definitely would paint it better. Shakespeare wouldn’t)

So, the point to remember here fellas, is that- there’s no such thing as Perfect.

Lemme rephrase it to you-

There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. There’s no such thing as perfect. 
No such thing as perfect. Perfect. No. Thing. Such. Perfect. No. As. No.Thing. No.

Why? Because you can build a Burj Khalifa, all by yourself (I’ve faith in you!) but even so, one day someone will decide to put a large bronze eagle on top of the thing. And not only will it be taller than the tallest building in the world; it’ll also be better.

It’ll be better than your perfect.

So what are you going to do about it?

Wait until you arrive at a magical eureka moment, when an angel will hammer your head with a Spectastic idea, so that you can get to work like a mad scientist who’s on the way to great greatness?

Yeah! You can do that on a Friday morning after an awful swim practice and downing three cups of Coffee. (I should know!)

Is this piece Perfect? I don’t know Dianne, it’s good enough.

Mad scientist- Peace out!

Leave a comment